ESGI 2002 Academic Delegates

Last Name First Name Institution E-Mail Research Interests
Allwright David Smith Institute allwrigh@maths.ox.ac.uk Acoustics, Vibration
Balanov Alexander Lancaster University a.balanov@lancaster.ac.uk Nonlinear Dynamical Systems
Braun Richard University of Southampton rjb@maths.soton.ac.uk ODE, PDE, Slow viscous fluids, Solidification, Free boundary problems
Breward Chris University of Oxford breward@maths.ox.ac.uk Fluid mechanics, Surfactant flows, Mathematical modelling in medicine
Brown Melvin Smith Institute brownm@maths.ox.ac.uk Time series analysis, Signal processing, Physical systems, Market simulation
Burton David Lancaster University d.burton@lancaster.ac.uk Differential Geometry, Continuum Mechanics
Byatt-Smith John University of Edinburgh byatt@ed.ac.uk PDE, Fluid Mech
Cao James Lancaster University d.cao@lancaster.ac.uk Structural Dynamics
Cartmell Matthew University of Glasgow m.cartmell@mech.gla.ac.uk Applied Dynamics
Cumberbatch Ellis Claremont Graduate University, USA ellis.cumberbatch@cgu.edu PDE, Fluid
Cutajar Reuben Lancaster University cutajar@exchange.lancs.ac.uk Microsystems Modelling
Dellar Paul University of Oxford dellar@maths.ox.ac.uk PDEs, Fluids, Scientific computation
Dewynne Jeff University of Oxford dewynne@maths.ox.ac.uk PDE, Fluids, Mathematical Finance
Edwards Carina University of Oxford edwardsc@maths.ox.ac.uk PDE, Fluids
Eglese Richard Lancaster University r.eglese@lancaster.ac.uk Operational Research
Eyres Richard University of Bristol richard.eyres@bristol.ac.uk Dynamical Systems, Dynamics of fluid dampers
Fidler Darren Heriot-Watt University darren@ma.hw.ac.uk Fire Modelling, Heat Transfer, Basic Fluids
Firth Neil University of Oxford firth@maths.ox.ac.uk Derivatives, American Options, Minority Game, PDE,
Grammatika Marianne University of Sheffield m.grammatika@sheffield.ac.uk Microhydrodynamics
Gravesen Jens Tech. University of Denmark, Denmark J.Gravesen@mat.dtu.dk Differential Geometry, Geometric Modelling
Grief Andrew University of Oxford grief@maths.ox.ac.uk Superconductivity, Matched Asymptotics, Pdes, Scientific Computing
Griffin Thomas University of Bristol Tom.Griffin@bristol.ac.uk Nonlinear Dynamics, The effect of noise on piecewise systems
Halse Christopher University of Bristol chris.halse@bristol.ac.uk Nonlinear Dynamics in Automotive Systems, Piecewise Systems
Healy James University of Southampton jrh@soton.ac.uk Modelling the Bubble Dynamics of Baking Crumpets
Hearle John UMIST (Emeritus) johnhearle@compuserve.com Structural mechanics of fibres and fibre assemblies
Hinch John University of Cambridge E.J.Hinch@damtp.cam.ac.uk Mecanics, Viscous fluids, Complex fluids
Hjorth Poul Tech. University of Denmark, Denmark p.g.hjorth@mat.dtu.dk Nonlinear Dynamical Systems, Hamiltonian Mechanics, Statistical Mechanics
Howison Sam University of Oxford howison@maths.ox.ac.uk Applications of DEs, Free boundary problems, Mathematical finance
Irvine Edward Lancaster University e_r_irvine@yahoo.co.uk Differential Geometry
Jacobs Ralf University of Strathclyde ralf.jacobs@strath.ac.uk Electromagnetics, Numerical Analysis, FEM
Janson Natalia Lancaster University n.janson@lancaster.ac.uk Nonlinear Dynamical Systems
Johnston Walter Lancaster University w.s.johnson@lancaster.ac.uk Differential Geometry, Continuum Mechanics
Kaouri Katerina University of Oxford kaouri@maths.ox.ac.uk Supersonic Flow, Hyperbolic PDEs
Kessari Smaragda Lancaster University s.kessari@lancaster.ac.uk Differential Geometry
Khan Sharon University of Cambridge sa266@cam.ac.uk Geophysical fluid dynamics
Khovanov Igor Lancaster University i.khovanov@lancaster.ac.uk Nonlinear Dynamics, Statistical Physics, Controlling chaotic and stochastic systems
Koop Arjen University of Oxford koop@maths.ox.ac.uk Plasma Physics
Kozyreff Gregory University of Oxford kozyreff@maths.ox.ac.uk Dynamical systems, Dynamics of lasers
Lacey Andrew Heriot-Watt University A.A.Lacey@ma.hw.ac.uk PDEs, Asymptotic Analysis
Leese Robert Smith Institute leese@maths.ox.ac.uk Nonphysical/Discrete Applied Mathematics
Letchford Adam Lancaster University a.n.letchford@lancaster.ac.uk Operational Research
Luchinsky Dmitri Lancaster University d.luchinsky@lancaster.ac.uk Stochastics
McClintock Peter Lancaster University p.v.e.mcclintock@lancaster.ac.uk Nonlinear Dynamical Systems
McKee Sean University of Strathclyde s.mckee@strath.ac.uk Industrial Mathematics, Numerical Analysis
Meadowcroft Jonnie Lancaster University meadowcr@exchange.lancs.ac.uk Microsystems Modelling
Messios Neo Lancaster University n.messios@lancaster.ac.uk Differential Geometry
Mihai Angela University of Durham L.A.Mihai@durham.ac.uk Numerical nalysis, Finite Element, PDE, Multigrid, Domain Decomposition
Morones Escobar Rafael ITAM, D.F. México morones@gauss.rhon.itam.mx Dynamical Systems and PDE
Mortimer David University of Oxford mortimer@maths.ox.ac.uk Asymptotics
Moseley Paul Smith Institute pmoseley@maths.ed.ac.uk Industrial Mathematics
Noble Steve Brunel University mastsdn@brunel.ac.uk Graph Theory, Combinatorial Optimisation, Complexity of Algorithms
Ockendon Hilary University of Oxford ockendon@maths.ox.ac.uk Fluids, Asymptotics, Industry, Textiles
Ockendon John University of Oxford ejam@maths.ox.ac.uk Industrial Maths, PDEs
Okrasinski Wojtek University of Zielona Góra, Poland W.Okrasinski@im.uz.zgora.pl PDE, Integral Equations, Nonlinear Diffusion, Chemical Engineering Modelling
Parker David University of Edinburgh D.F.Parker@ed.ac.uk Nonlinear waves, elasticity, optical/electronic waveguides
Please Colin University of Southampton cpp@maths.soton.ac.uk Mathemtical modelling, PDE, Asymptotics
Richardson Andrew Lancaster University a.richardson@lancaster.ac.uk Microsystems Modelling
Richardson Giles University of Nottingham giles.richardson@nottingham.ac.uk PDEs, Superconductivity, Industrial mathematics
Rosing Richard Lancaster University r.rosing@lancaster.ac.uk Microsystems Modelling
Salazar Domingo University of Oxford salazar@maths.ox.ac.uk Dynamical Systems, PDEs, Asymptotics, Solids, Fluids
Silchenko Alex Lancaster University a.silchenko@lancaster.ac.uk Nonlinear
Singh Dinesh Lancaster University d.singh@lancaster.ac.uk Differential Geometry
Smith Carlo University of Oxford smithc@maths.ox.ac.uk Free boundary problems in fluid mechanics
Stefanovska Aneta Lancaster University aneta@lancaster.ac.uk Processing complex signals with noise
Tewkesbury Heather Smith Institute Tewkesbury@maths.ox.ac.uk Heat Transfer, Food
Toll Staffan Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden staffan.toll@me.chalmers.se Paper, Textiles Fibre Networks
Tucker Robin Lancaster University r.tucker@lancaster.ac.uk Differential Geometry, Continuum Mechanics
Verzhbitskaya Irina University of Oxford i_verb@mail.ru Nonlinear systems, Parametrical analysis, Stability
Voong Caroline Heriot-Watt University caroline@ma.hw.ac.uk Linear Friction Welding
Voyce Christopher University of Southampton CJV@maths.soton.ac.uk Mathematical modelling of microstructured fibres
Wake Graeme All Souls College, Oxford graeme.wake@all-souls.ox.ac.uk Dynamical Systems, PDE, Combustion, Mathematical Biology
Wang Charles Lancaster University c.wang@lancaster.ac.uk Differential Geometry, Continuum Mechanics
Wiercigroch Marian University of Aberdeen M.Wiercigroch@eng.abdn.ac.uk Dynamical Systems, Vibrations, Mechanics
Wilkinson Michael Open University m.wilkinson@open.ac.uk Theoretical physics: Statistical, Quantum, Condensed Matter
Wilks Graham Keele University g.wilks@keele.ac.uk Heat transfer fluid Mechanics, Nonlinear Systems
Wilson Eddie University of Bristol RE.Wilson@bristol.ac.uk Industrial Maths, Applications of Dynamical Systems
Wilson Stephen University of Strathclyde s.k.wilson@strath.ac.uk Thin-film flows, Non-Newtonian Fluid mechanics, Boiling, Marangoni flows
Woo Ko-Choong University of Aberdeen eng536@eng.abdn.ac.uk Applied Nonlinear Dynamics
Xu Xu University of Aberdeen xu.xu@eng.abdn.ac.uk Dynamical Systems